The ruined town of Kayaköy sits on a steep valley slope between the seaside town of Fethiye and the stunning resort town of Ölüdeniz. Once known as Levissi to the Greek settlers and as Kayaköy to the Turks, the town was built and occupied by Greeks until the population exchange was made in 1923 when most of the town's population was deported. Greek Macedonian Muslims took their place but the quaint town was not to the liking of the new inhabitants who chose to build their own homes on the flat fertile soil of the valley and the once-prosperous town quickly fell to ruin. Kayaköy is now appropriately known as The Ghost Town as the entire village is a standing museum. Around 500 houses remain as ruins and are under the protection of the Turkish government, including two Greek Orthodox Churches, which remain the most important sites of the ghost town. There is a private museum on the history of the town and in the middle of the village stands a fountain that dates from the seventeenth century.
Today you can walk through the cobbles stone streets which stretch across the width of the valley framed by thick forest. Wander through abandoned houses, schools and churches. Many of the old stone walls are crumbling and some places are heavily overgrown. The Ghost Town is particularly enchanting at sunset when the trees cast long shadows over the derelict buildings.
Below the ruins are the modern Kayakoy, a small village which offers visitors a handful of traditional restaurants, souvenir shops, camel rides and accommodation for holiday makers.